Franklin County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Created:  February 25, 1784

County Seat: 

Warren Philpot Home    1784 – 1787

Benjamin Acles Home   1787 – 1805

Carnesville                    1805 – present


County Courthouse – Carnesville


Location:  9492 Lavonia Road / Central Avenue

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Walter Chamberlin of Knoxville, Tennessee

Contractor:  M T Lewman & Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building sits on the edge of a wide ravine. The entrances on each side are extended from the building and have two large white colored columns each rising to a wide header and small pediment above. A wide horizontal band runs below the protruding cornice at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large square white colored dome with clock and black roof. The building was renovated in 1997. The contractor was Bowen & Watson Inc, of Toccoa.


See:  The contractor M T Lewman and Company of Louisville, Kentucky.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1873 and the second courthouse was built in 1826.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Franklin County Courthouse



N – Stephens County 

E – Oconee County, South Carolina and Hart County

S – Madison County

W – Banks County

















Photos taken 2008