Platte County

Platte County is named for the North Platte River which flows through the county, and “platte” is the French for “flat”.


Created:  February 9, 1911
County Seat:

Wheatland 1911 – present

County Courthouse – Wheatland

Location:  800 9th Street / Walnut Street

Built:  1917 – 1918
Style:  Classical Revival
Architect:  Baerreson Brothers Architects
Contractor:  Archie Allison of Cheyenne.

 The building faces west and is a two story buff colred brick and concrete structure. The west front projects from the main building and has four large stone columns supporting a header with pediment above. The main entrance is recessed and the second story is recessed behind the columns. The roof line extends beyond d the building and has white colored trim.



N – Converse County and Niobrara County

E – Goshen County

S – Laramie County

W – Albany County and Converse County














Photos taken 2007

Big Horn County

Big Horn County is named for the Big Horn Mountains which are named after the Big Horn sheep found in the region.


Created: March 12, 1890
County Seat:

Basin 1897 – present

County Courthouse – Basin

Location: 420 West C Street / North 6th Street

Built: 1916 – 1918
Style: Classical Revival
Architect: W N Bowman of Denver, Colorado
Contractor: Monarch Engineering Company

The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure.  At the south front are four large columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The entrance is arched with small iron balcony on the second story. The first story windows are arched. There is Bedford limestone trim along the corners of the building. The roof has red colored tile. One story additions extend on the east and west sides of the building. On the north side of the building is the one story buff colored brick, glass and concrete annex constructed in 1966. The architect was John E Toohey and the contractor was Julien Construction Company.



N – Carbon County, Montana and Big Horn County, Montana

E – Sheridan County and Johnson County

S – Washakie County

W – Park County























Photos taken 2009