Michigan became the 26th state on January 26, 1837. Lansing is the state capital. There are currently 83 counties each with a courthouse.




Click on a county below to learn more:

Alcona Alger Allegan  Alpena  Antrim
Arenac  Baraga Barry  Bay  Benzie 
Berrien Branch  Calhoun Cass  Charlevoix 
Cheboygan Chippewa  Clare Clinton  Crawford 
Delta Dickinson  Eaton  Emmet  Genesee 
Gladwin Gogebic  Grand Traverse Gratiot  Hillsdale 
Houghton  Huron Ingham  Ionia  Iosco
Iron  Isabella Jackson  Kalamazoo  Kalkaska 
Kent  Keweenaw Lake  Lapeer  Leelanau 
Lenawee Livingston Luce  Mackinac Macomb 
Manistee Marquette Mason  Mecosta  Menominee 
Midland  Missaukee Monroe  Montcalm  Montmorency
Muskegon  Newaygo Oakland Oceana  Ogemaw
Ontonagon  Osceola  Oscoda  Otsego Ottawa 
Presque Isle Roscommon Saginaw  Sanilac  Schoolcraft
Shiawassee St. Clair St. Joseph Tuscola  Van Buren 
Washtenaw  Wayne Wexford 

Michigan Supreme Court


Highest Point – Mount Arvon ( 1,979 feet ) is located in Baraga County

Lowest Point  – Lake Erie ( 571 feet ) is located in Monroe County 

Oldest Courthouse - Lapeer County (1845)

Oldest Former Courthouse - Berrien County (1839)




State Capitol – Lansing




Governor Mansion – Lansing