Wisconsin became the 30th state on May 29, 1848. Madison is the state capital. There are currently 72 counties each with a courthouse.




Click on a county below to learn more:

Adams  Ashland  Barron Bayfield  Brown 
Buffalo  Burnett  Calumet  Chippewa  Clark
Columbia Crawford  Dane Dodge  Door 
Douglas Dunn  Eau Claire Florence Fond du Lac 
Forest  Grant Green Green Lake  Iowa
Iron  Jackson Jefferson  Juneau Kenosha
Kewaunee La Crosse Lafayette  Langlade Lincoln
Manitowoc  Marathon  Marinette Marquette Menominee
Milwaukee Monroe Oconto Oneida  Outagamie
Ozaukee Pepin  Pierce Polk Portage 
Price  Racine  Richland Rock Rusk 
Saint Croix  Sauk  Sawyer  Shawano Sheboygan 
Taylor  Trempealeau  Vernon  Vilas  Walworth 
Washburn  Washington  Waukesha Waupaca Waushara 
Winnebago Wood 

Wisconsin Supreme Court


Court of Appeals


Division I   -  Milwaukee - Milwaukee County

Division II  – Waukesha - Waukesha County

Division III – Wausau - Marathon County 

Division IV – Madison - Dane County


Highest Point – Timm’s Hill ( 1,952 feet ) is located in Price County

Lowest Point – Lake Michigan ( 1,777 feet )


Oldest Courthouse still in use - iowa County (1861)

Oldest Former Courthouse - Pepin County (1872)




State Capitol – Madison




Governor Mansion – Maple Bluff