Jeff Davis County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Jeff Davis County
Jeff Davis

Jeff Davis County is named for Jefferson Davis, who was the only President of the Confederate States of America.


Created:  August 18, 1905

County Seat: 

Hazelhurst  1906 – present


County Courthouse – Hazelhurst 


Location:  100 Jeff Davis Street / South Tallahassee Street

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  W Chamberlin & Company of Knoxville, Tennessee

Contractor:  M T Lewman & Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story gray stucco and concrete structure. The building has a projecting center section which has three arches on the first story at the entrance. At each corner are hexagonal short towers. At the west center is an octagonal dome with clock and greenish colored roof. The building was renovated in 1994 to 1995. The architect was Brittain, Thompson, Bray, Brown, Inc. of Macon and the contractor was LPS Construction Company, Inc. of Statesboro.


See:  The contractor M T Lewman and Company of Louisville, Kentucky.



North  Telfair County, Wheeler County and Toombs County 

East    – Appling County and Bacon County

South – Bacon County and Coffee County

West   – Coffee County and Telfair County





















Photos taken 2008