Massachusetts became the 6th state on February 6, 1788. Boston is the state capital. There are currently 14 counties each with a courthouse.




Click on a county below to learn more:


Barnstable  Berkshire  Bristol  Dukes  Essex 
Franklin Hampden  Hampshire Middlesex  Nantucket 
Norfolk Plymouth Suffolk  Worcester 

Massachusetts Supreme Court / Appeals Court


Highest Point – Mount Greylock ( 3,491 feet ) is located in Berkshire County.

Lowest Point  – Atlantic Ocean (sea level) 


Oldest Courthouse still in use - Essex County (Newburyport - 1805-1806)

Oldest Former Courthouse - Plymouth County (1749-1750)




State House – Boston