Oconee County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Oconee County

Oconee County is named for the Oconee River which means “people place” or “nation of the skunk” in the Creek Native American language.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Barrow County 

E – Clarke County and Oglethorpe County

S – Greene County

W – Morgan County and Walton County


Created:  February 25, 1875                  Map of Georgia highlighting Oconee County

County Seat: 

Watkinsville  1875 – present


County Courthouse – Watkinsville 


Location:  23 North Main Street / School Street

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Stripped Classical

Architect:  William J J Chase

Contractor:  Knox Brothers Lumber Company


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Watkinsville. The northeast front has a slightly projecting concrete center section with recessed entrance on the first story and three large windows on the second story.  The east and west sections are recessed. A narrow horizontal band runs between the floors. The roof line is flat. An addition was constructed in 1998 extending the building southwards. The architect was Brittain Thompson Bray Brown Inc. and the contractor was Salloun Construction Company, Inc.


History:  The first courthouse was built in 1806 and the second courthouse was built in 1849 in Watkinsville as county seat for Clarke County. In 1875, Watkinsville became the county seat for Oconee County. The third courthouse was built in 1875. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1938 to 1939.




County Courthouse - Watkinsville



















Photos taken 2013