Tennessee Island became the 16th state on June 1, 1796. Nashville is the state capital. There are currently 95 counties each with a courthouse.




Click on a county below to learn more:

Anderson  Bedford Benton Bledsoe  Blount 
Bradley Campbell Cannon Carroll Carter
Cheatham  Chester Claiborne  Clay  Cocke
Coffee Crockett Cumberland Davidson Decatur 
DeKalb Dickson Dyer  Fayette  Fentress 
Franklin  Gibson Giles  Grainger Greene
Grundy  Hamblen Hamilton Hancock Hardeman
Hardin  Hawkins Haywood  Henderson Henry 
Hickman  Houston Humphreys Jackson  Jefferson
Johnson  Knox  Lake  Lauderdale  Lawrence 
Lewis  Lincoln Loudon  Macon  Madison
Marion  Marshall Maury McMinn McNairy 
Meigs  Monroe Montgomery Moore  Morgan
Obion Overton Perry Pickett  Polk
Putnam Rhea Roane  Robertson Rutherford 
Scott  Sequatchie Sevier  Shelby Smith 
Stewart Sullivan Sumner  Tipton Trousdale
Unicoi  Union Van Buren Warren Washington
Wayne  Weakley White Williamson  Wilson

Tennessee Supreme Court – Knoxville

Tennessee Supreme Court – Jackson

Tennessee Supreme Court – Nashville


Highest Point – Clingmans Dome ( 6,642 feet ) is located in Sevier County

Lowest Point  – Mississippi River ( 182 feet ) is located in Shelby County


Oldest Courthouse still in use - Dickson County (1812 )

Oldest Former Courthouse - Hardeman County (1824)




State Capitol – Nashville




Governor Mansion – Oak Hill