Richmond County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Richmond County

Richmond County is named for the third Duke of Richmond, who was the British Secretary of State and sympathetic to the cause of the American colonies.


Created:  January 23, 1780

County Seat:  

Augusta  1780 – present


Old County Courthouse – Augusta 


Location:  530 Greene Street / Monument Street

Built:  1956 – 1957

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Scroggs & Ewing of Augusta and Kuhlke & Wade

Contractor:  Beer Construction Company of Atlanta


Description:  The building faces north and is a nine story stone, glass and concrete structure.  The building has protruding three story wings on the east and west sides. The building is faced with a gray colored polished stone and vertical dividers run between the windows. The roof line is flat. The building houses the City of Augusta offices. An addition is being constructed in 2014 on the south side. The architect was Virgo Gambill Architects and the contractor was Turner Corporation and Heery International Inc.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by James Middleton and constructed in 1820. An additions was added in 1870. A further addition was added in 1892 and the architect was L F Goodrich.


County Courthouse – Augusta 




Location:  735 James Brown Boulevard / Walton Way

Built:  2009 – 2011

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Turner Associates/Architects & Planners, Inc.

Contractor:  Potts Construction of Conyers


Description:  The building faces east and is a four story red colored brick, glass and concrete structure.  The building has a extended south wing with projecting glass windows on the second and third stories, In the center of the east front is a large portico with four columns rising two stories to a header and with three vertical glass sections. On the north side is a large circular section with vertical windows. On the center of the roof is a large square tower with vertical openings at the top. The roof line is flat.  The building is named as the John H Ruffin Courthouse. The construction manager was Heery International Inc.



N – McDuffie County and Columbia County

E – Edgefield County, South Carolina and Aiken County, South Carolina

S – Burke County

W – Jefferson County



































Photos taken 2008 and 2014