Stephens County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Stephens County

Stephens County is named for Alexander Stephens, who was a United States Representative, the Vice President of the Confederate States of America and the fifty-third governor of Georgia.


Created:  August 18, 1905

County Seat: 

Toccoa  1905 – present


County Courthouse – Toccoa 


Location:  150 West Doyle Street / North Alexander Street

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  H L Lewman

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building sits on a rise on landscaped grounds in the center of Toccoa.  The south front has a large portico with four large white colored columns rising to a pediment. The east and west wings extend from the main building. The building was remodeled in 2007 and 2008 and will be used as county offices. The old courtroom on the second story is now the commissioners room.


Seee:   The architect, H C Lewman also designed and his company, Falls City Construction Company, built the courthouse in Irwin County. The cornerstone of each courthouse shows only Falls City Construction Company.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


County Government Building – Toccoa 




Location:  205 North Alexander Avenue / West Tugalo Streeet

Built:  2000 – 2001

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Bowen & WAtson, Inc. of Toccoa


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Toccoa. The building has a high portico supported by four square white pillars rising to a pediment at the roof line. A wide white horizontal band runs between the first and second stories. The building is the Stephens County Government Building.


History:  The first courthouse was constructed in 1908 to 1909 and is still standing. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 2000 to 2001.



N – Oconee County, South Carolina 

E – Oconee County, South Carolina 

S – Franklin County and Banks County

W – Habersham County





County Courthouse – Toccoa

























County Government Building – Toccoa







Photos taken 2008 and 2013