Taliaferro County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Taliaferro County

Taliaferro County is named for Benjamin Taliaferro, who was an officer in the American Revolutionary War and a United States Representative from Georgia ( pronounced “Toliver” ).


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Oglethorpe County and Wilkes County

E – Wilkes County

S – Warren County and Hancock County

W – Greene County


Created:  December 24, 1825                Map of Georgia highlighting Taliaferro County

County Seat: 

Crawfordville  1826 – present


County Courthouse – Crawfordville 


Location:  113 Monument Street / Broad Street

Built:  1901 – 1902

Style:  High Victoria

Architect:  Lewis F Goodrich of Augusta

Contractor:  J H McKenzie & Son


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Crawfordville and has a large square clock tower on the southeast corner rising to a white octagonal cupola with clock and silver colored roof. There are small brick pillar supported porches on the south and east sides. Small square towers are on the other building corners.


History:  The first courthouse was built in 1828. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1901 to 1902.




County Courthouse – Crawfordville
















Photos taken 2008