Baker County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Baker County
Baker -O

Baker County is named for John Baker, who was a member of the Provincial Congress of Georgia in 1775 and who served in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Calhoun County and Dougherty County 

E – Mitchell County 

S – Mitchell County and Decatur County

W – Miller County and Early County


Created:  December 12, 1825                Map of Georgia highlighting Baker County

County Seat: 

Byron     1825 – 1831

Newton  1831 – present


Old County Courthouse – Newton


Location:  SE – Main Street / Washington Avenue

Built:  1900 – 1901

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  J W Golucke & Company

Contractor:  Atlanta Fireproofing Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds on the southeast side of the center of Newton.  In the center of the south front is a four story red colored brick clock tower with peaked roof. On either side the building rises to a peaked roof line. On each corner is a small round white tower with steep roof. The large courtroom is located on the second story.


County Courthouse – Newton




Location:  167 Barber Place / Hillcrest Drive

Built:  1934 – 1935

Style:  School House

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building face south and is a one story red colored brick and wood frame structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Newton and northwest of the old courthouse.The south front has an entrance at the southeast corner with peaked roof. The building has a west wing and extends north. The building was a former school house and became the courthouse in 1994 after the old courthouse was flooded. The building was remodeled in 2000.


History:  The first court met at the house of William Howards in 1825. Byron was designated the county seat in 1828 and the first courthouse was built. In 1837, the county seat was moved to Newton and the second courthouse was built. In 1874, the third courthouse was built at a cost of $5,000. The fourth courthouse was constructed in 1900 to 1901. The fifth and present courthouse was a vacant school which was remodeled.




Old County Courthouse – Newton






















County Courthouse – Newton










Photos taken 2009