Union County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Union County

Union County is named for the Federal Union showing loyalty to the national government.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cherokee County, North Carolina and Clay County, North Carolina

E – Towns County and White County

S – Lumpkin County

W – Fannin County


Created:  December 3, 1832                  Map of Georgia highlighting Union County

County Seat: 

Blairsville  1832 – present


Old County Courthouse – Blairsville 


Location:  1 Town Square / Paul Haralson Memorial Drive

Built:  1898 – 1899

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Golucke & Stewart

Contractor:  M B McGinty


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Blairsville. The northwest front has a one story porch with arched entrance. On either side are projecting sections which rise to peaks at the roof line. Above the central front is a high square bell tower with clock and steep roof at the top.


County Courthouse – Blairsville 




Location:  65 Courthouse Street / Paul Haralson Memorial Drive

Built:  1975 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Reynolds, Bailey, Vroom

Contractor:  Corb Collins


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story dark brown colored brick and cencrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the southwest of the center of Blairsville. The building has a main entrance at the second story on the southeast front. The building descends down a slope with a first story entrance on the northwest side. The roof line is flat. The original building was a one story rectangular structure on the southeast side. In 1978 a judicial wing with courtroom was added on the northeast side. The architect was Pope/Petterfer and the contractor was Corb Collins. The building was extended northwest in 2004 to 2005 creating the two story structure with glass paneled entrance on the northwest side. The architect was Rosser International and the contractor was Merritt Construction.


History:  The first court was held at the house of Isaac N Greer. He first courthouse was a log structure built in Blairsville after 1832 and burned in 1859. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1859. The building was destroyed by fire in 1898. The third courthouse was constructed in 1898 to 1899 and is still standing. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1975 to 1976.


Note:  The highest point in Georgia is Brasstown Bald Mountain at 4784 feet ( 1458 meters ) which is located in the county.




Old County Courthouse – Blairsville



















County Courthouse – Blairsville



















Photos taken 2013