Quitman County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Quitman County

Quitman County is named for John A Quitman, who was a Governor of Mississippi and who served in the Mexican War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Stewart County

E – Randolph County

S – Clay County

W – Henry County, Alabama and Barbour County, Alabama 


Created:  December 10, 1858                Map of Georgia highlighting Quitman County

County Seat: 

Georgetown  1858 – present


County Courthouse – Georgetown 


Location:  1110 Main Street / Middle Street

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Stripped Classical with Colonial Revival

Architect:  T Firth Lockwood, Jr.

Contractor:  D M Still


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Georgetown. The east front has a recessed center section with for vertical concrete dividers. The roof is pitched. There are lower north and south one story wings. The courtroom is located in the center of the building.


History:  The first courthouse was a wood two story structure built in Georgetown after 1858. The courthouse burned in 1920. The second courthouse was a rented warehouse. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1939.




County Courthouse – Georgetown



















Photos taken 2010