Worth County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Worth County

Worth County is named for William James Worth, who was as commandant at the United States Military Academy and an officer in the Mexican-American War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Crisp County

E – Turner County and Tift County

S – Colquitt County

W – Mitchell CountyDougherty County and Lee County


Created:  December 20, 1853                Map of Georgia highlighting Worth County

County Seat: 

San Barnard  1853 – 1854

Isabella          1854 – 1904

Sylvester       1904 – present


County Courthouse – Sylvester


Location:  201 North Main Street / West Kelly Street

Built:  1983 – 1984

Style:  Modern Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Dennis & Dennis Inc. of Macon

Contractor:  Hollis & Spann of Dothan, Alabama


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Sylvester. The south front has a central portico supported by four columns rising to a pediment with clock at the roof line. Behind the portico is a brick center section with a square cupola rising to a red colored roof with clock and small open cupola at the top. There are portico on the east, west and north sides. There is a two story west wing. In the interior is the County Superior Court courtroom. The building houses the County Superior Court of the 2nd Judicial District.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Atkinson CountyBaker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Calhoun CountyClay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyDecatur CountyDougherty CountyEarly County, Echols CountyGrady CountyIrwin CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyMitchell County, Quitman CountyRandolph CountySeminole CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift County and Turner County.


History:  The county was created in 1853 and San Barnard was selected as the county seat. In 1854 the county seat was moved to Isabella. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in Isabella in 1854. The courthouse burned in 1879 and a school house became the second courthouse until the third courthouse was built in 1893. This courthouse burned in 1894 and the fourth courthouse was built. The county seat was moved to Sylvester in 1904 and the fifth courthouse was designed by James Wingfield Golucke and constructed by Totherow & Company in 1905..In January 1982, the courthouse was substantially damaged. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 1983 to 1984.




County Courthouse – Sylvester
















County Superior Court courtroom






















County Courthouse 1905




Photos taken 2009 and 2018