Lowndes County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Lowndes County

Lowndes County is named for William Lowndes, who was a South Carolina lawyer, planter, United States representative and vice presidential candidate.


Created:  December 23, 1825

County Seat: 

Franklinville     1828 – 1833

Lowndesville   1833 – 1859

Valdosta          1859 – present


County Courthouse – Valdosta


Location:  100 East Central Avenue / North Paterson Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC

Contractor:  Algernon Blair


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds and the south front has a large portico supported by four large columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There is a balustrade around the roof. On each corner are small domes. In the center of the roof is a large octagonal dome with a higher octagonal dome and topped by a small cupola. An addition was designed by architect Joe E Bright and constructed in 1962. The addition was later demolished. The building was remodeled in 1992.


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC.


County Justice Center – Valdosta




Location:  327 North Ashley Street / Magnolia Street

Built:  2008 – 2010

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ellis, Ricket & Associates

Contractor:  Phase I – Pinnacle Prime Contractors

Phase II – Quillian Powell Construction.


Description:  The building faces south and is a five story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds and has a one story section on the southwest with curved canopy at the central entrance on the south and on the west sides. On the north side is a three story section which houses the administration and on the east side is a five story section which houses the courts. The building is named as the Lowndes County Judicial and Administrative Complex. 


Note:  The cost of construction was $17,900,000.



 Cook County, Berrien County and Lanier County 

E – Lanier County and Echols County

S – Hamilton County, Florida and Madison County, Florida

W – Brooks County




County Courthouse
















County Judicial Complex






















Photos taken 2009 and 2018