Miller County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Miller County

Miller County is named for Andrew Miller, who was a lawyer, politician and president of the Medical College of Georgia and who lived from 1806 to 1856.


Created:  February 26, 1856

County Seat: 

Colquitt  1860 – present


County Courthouse – Colquitt 


Location:  155 South 1st Street / Main Street

Built:  1975 – 1977

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Tomberlin Associates Architects Inc. of Atlanta

Contractor:  S J Curry & Company of Albany


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Colquitt. The east front has a recessed entrance in the center with two large arched windows on each side. There are arches on the north, south and west sides of the building. The roof line is flat. The building was renovated in 2012 ans a white colored portico was constructed at the east entrance. The architect was Jerry R McNease of Colquitt and the contractor was CGM Construction Group LLC of Colquitt.


History:  The first was built in Colquitt in 1856 and was destroyed by fire in 1873. The second courthouse was built in 1873 and was also destroyed by fire in 1904. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Alexander Blair and constructed in 1905. This building burned in 1974. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1975 to 1977.



Early County and Baker County

E – Baker County

S – Decatur County and Seminole County

W – Early County





County Courthouse – Colquitt













County Couthouse after renovation 2012







Photos taken 2009 and 2018