Bacon County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Bacon County

Bacon County is named for Augustus Octavius Bacon, who was a United States Senator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Jeff Davis County and Appling County

E – Appling County

S – Pierce County and Ware County

W – Coffee County 


Created:  November 3, 1914          Map of Georgia highlighting Bacon County

County Seat: 

Alma  1914 – present


County Courthouse – Alma 


Location:  502 West 12th Street / South Dixon Street

Built:  1918 – 1919

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  James J Baldwin

Contractor:  R W Wimbish


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Alma. The northeast front has a large portico with four high white colored columns rising to a pediment with circular window, at the roof line.  The second story windows are arched. On the roof is a white colored octagonal cupola with clock and gold colored dome at the top. The old courtroom is located on the second story and the courtroom is located on the second story of the addition. The building houses the County Superior Court, County State Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court  of the 1st Judicial Administrative District.  An addition was constructed in 2000, on the southwest side which fans out from the original building.


See: The architect, James J Baldwin also designed courthouses in Atkinson CountyBarrow County, Bleckley County, Candler CountyEvans County, Lee County, Liberty County and Treutlen Countyand in North Carolina in Cherokee County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Bacon County Courthouse


See:  The 1st Judicial District includes Appling CountyBrantley CountyBulloch CountyBryan CountyCamden CountyCharlton CountyChatham CountyCoffee CountyEffingham CountyEvans CountyGlynn CountyJeff Davis County, Jenkins CountyLiberty County, Long CountyMcIntosh CountyPierce CountyScreven CountyTattnall CountyWare County and Wayne County.


Old County Courthouse – Alma 


Location:  203 – 205 West Eleventh Street / North Church Street

Built:  1915

Style:  Commercial

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Alma. The south front has gray colored glazed bricks and an ornamental cornice. There are two recessed entrances. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the Rabinowitz Building.


History:  The county was created in 1914 and Alma was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was the Rabinowitz Building where the court met on the second story until 1920 until the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1918 to 1919.




County Courthouse – Alma

























Old Courtroom







County Superior Court courtrom

























Photos taken 2012 and 2020