Cherokee County

US States / N / North Carolina / Cherokee County

Cherokee County is named for the Cherokee Native American tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Monroe County, Tennessee and  Graham County

E – Macon County and Clay County

S – Union County, Georgia and Fannin County, Georgia

W – Polk County, Tennessee


Created:  January 4, 1839                      Map of North Carolina highlighting Cherokee County

County Seat: 

Murphy  1839 – present


County Courthouse – Murphy 


Location:  75 Peachtree Street / Central Street

Built:  1927 – 1928

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  James J Baldwin

Contractor:  James Fanning, Incorporated


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story gray colored Blue Marble stone structure. The building is located in the center of Murphy. The southwest corner of the building has a high portico with four columns rising at a pediment at the roof line. The building is tiered with west and south wings. On the center of the roof is a high octagonal dome with clock and black colored dome and small lantern at the top. The building was renovated in 2012. The architect was Clark Patterson Lee and the contractor was Wells and West.


History:  The first courthouse was built in Murphy in 1841. The courthouse burned in 1865 and the second courthouse was built. The third courthouse was built in 1892 and burned in 1895. The fourth courthouse was designed by Bruce & Morgan in 1896 and destroyed by fire on January 16, 1926. The fifth courthouse was constructed in 1927 to 1928 at a cost of $200,000.




County Courthouse – Murphy

























Photos taken 2012