Treutlen County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Treutlen County

Treutlen County is named for John A Treutlen, who was Georgia’s first state governor following the adoption of the constitution of 1777.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Johnson County and Emanuel County

E – Emanuel County

S – Toombs CountyMontgomery County and Wheeler County

W – Laurens County


Created:  December 19, 1793                Map of Georgia highlighting Treutlen County

County Seat: 

Soperton  1813 – present


County Courthouse – Soperton 


Location:  203 2nd Street / West Georgia Avenue

Built:  1920 – 1921

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  James J Baldwin

Contractor:  I P Crutcfield


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story light red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Soperton and has a large portico supported by four large columns supporting a pediment at the roof line. White horizontal trim runs above the second story windows with a projecting cornice above that. On the center of the roof is a narrow octagonal cupola with windows and clock. The roof line is flat. The building was renovated in 1976.


See: The architect, James J Baldwin also designed courthouses in Atkinson CountyBacon CountyBarrow County, Candler CountyEvans County, Lee County and Liberty Countyand in North Carolina in Cherokee County.




County Courthouse – Soperton

























Photos taken 2008 and 2018