Screven County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Screven County

Screven County is named for James Screven, who was a brigadier general in the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  December 14, 1793

County Seat: 

Rocky Ford    1793 – 1797

Jacksonboro  1797 – 1847

Sylvania         1847 – present


County Courthouse – Sylvania


Location:  216 Mims Road / W T Sharpe Drive

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Sewell & Associates of Savannah

Contractor:  McKnight Construction of Augusta


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is surrounded by landscaped grounds. The center entrance is recessed with a yellow colored overhang. The northwest wing is higher and solid brick. The building has a sloped green colored roof.


Note:  In 1897, county officials contracted with Algernon Blair of Montgomery, Alabama. to build a new two story brick courthouse for $15,000 over the site of the former courthouse. This courthouse was torn down in 1963 and the new courthouse was constructed further west from the town square.



N – Burke County and Allendale County, South Carolina

E – Allendale County, South Carolina and Hampton County, South Carolina

S – Effingham County and Bulloch County

W – Jenkins County 





Old 1897 courthouse














Photos taken 2008