Brantley County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Brantley County

Brantley County is named for William Gordon Brantley, who was a Georgia State representative, a Georgia State Senator and a United States congressman.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Pierce County and Wayne County

E – Glynn County and Camden County 

S – Charlton County

W – Ware County


Created:  August 14, 1920                     Map of Georgia highlighting Brantley County

County Seat: 

Hoboken  1920 – 1921

Nahunta   1921 - present


County Courthouse – Nahunta


Location:  117 Brantley Street / Cannon Street

Built:  1930 – 1931

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  T J Darling

Contractor:  Ledsinger & Turner


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Nahunta. The north has a central section which projects slightly with an arched entrance on the first story and an arched window with balcony on the second story. Above is a peak with clock and a small square cupola on the peak. The east and west wings are one story. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the hallways form a cross plan with a hallways radiating to each entrance. The hallways and stairs have wood wainscoting. The ceilings have a pressed metal design. Stairs with wood spindles and railings ascend to the second story County Superior Court courtroom which is located at the center. The courtroom has pressed metal ceilings, plaster walls with pilasters and original light fixtures. The judge’s bench is classical-detailed. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court of the 1st Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1978 and an addition was added. The architect was O’Steen & Suttles of Douglas and the contractor was Watson-Yeargan Inc. of Jesup.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Brantley County Courthouse


See:  The 1st Judicial District includes Appling CountyBacon County, Brantley CountyBulloch CountyBryan CountyCamden CountyCharlton CountyChatham CountyCoffee CountyEffingham CountyEvans CountyGlynn CountyJeff Davis County, Jenkins CountyLiberty County, Long CountyMcIntosh CountyPierce CountyScreven CountyTattnall CountyWare County and Wayne County.


History:  The county was created in 1920 and Hoboken was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1821. In 1923, the county seat was moved to Nahunta but no courthouse was built and the courthouse in Hoboken might have been used until the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1930 to 1931 at a cost of $29,286.




County Courthouse – Nahunta




























County Superior Court courtroom




County Superior Court courtroom










Photos taken 2009 and 2023