Bryan County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Bryan County

Bryan County is named for Jonathon Bryan, who was an American Revolutionary War partisan.


Surroundin County Courthouses: 

– Bulloch County

E – Effingham County and Chatham County

S – Liberty County 

W – Liberty County and Evans County


Created:  December 19, 1793                Map of Georgia highlighting Bryan County

County Seat: 

Hardwick       1793 – 1798

Cross Road   1786 – 1860

Eden              1860 – 1901

Clyde             1901 – 1937

Pembroke      1838 – present


County Courthouse – Pembroke


Location:  151 South College Street / Mary Street

Built:  1938 – 1940

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Walter E Marshall

Contractor:  B Josselson and H F Gregory


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Pembroke and the west front has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to a pediment with a clock at the roof line. On the north and south, the center sections project from the main building. The building has a hipped roof. The building was renovated in 1990. The architect was Edwin C Eckles and the contractor was Stewart & Associates Construction Inc. In 1993, an addition was constructed on the east side. The architect was Eckles, Martin & Rule Architects PC and the contractor was Charles H Wilkinson Company.


History:  The first courthouse was built at Cross Road in 1854. In 1901, the second courthouse was built at Clyde. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1938 to 1949.




County Courthouse – Pembroke































Photos taken 2008, 2018 and 2020