Pierce County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Pierce County

Pierce County is named for Franklin Pierce, who was the fourteenth president of the United States of America and who lived from 1804 to 1869.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Bacon County and Appling County

E – Wayne County and Brantley County

S – Brantley County

W – Ware County


Created:  December 18, 1857                Map of Georgia highlighting Pierce County

County Seat: 

Blackshear  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Blackshear 


Location:  3550 West Highway 84 / Gordon Street

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  James Wingfield Golucke & Company of Atlanta

Contractor:  George A Clayton


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Blackshear. The southeast front has two large columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The entrance is recessed with an arched window above on the second story. The corners of the building project slightly. A wide cornice runs below the roof line. A rear addition was added in 1975.


History:  The first court met at the house of Nancy Stewart. The first courthouse was built in 1858 and burned in 1875. The second courthouse was built in 1875. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1903.




County Courthouse – Blackshear
















Photos taken 2009