Lee County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Lee County

Lee County is named for Richard Henry Lee, who was a Virginia politician and a leader in the independence Movement or for Henry “light Horse Harry” Lee, who was a hero of the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Sumter County

E – Crisp County and Worth County

S – Dougherty County

W – Terrell County


Created:  December 14, 1826                Map of Georgia highlighting Lee County

County Seat: 

Starkville   1826 – 1854

Webster    1854 – 1856

Starkville   1856 – 1872

Leesburg   1872 – present


County Courthouse – Leesburg


Location:  100 Leslie Highway / 4th Street

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  James J Baldwin

Contractor:  R W Wimbish


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Leesville. The west front has a large portico with four Doric columns rising to a pediment with round window above the second story. Brick quoins on the entrance and end pavilions are decorative as are the emphasized keystones on the second story windows and the bracketed entablature with cartouche over the entry. The north entrance has a stone overhang above. Behind the pediment is a raised brick section. A horizontal white colored band runs below the projecting cornice. On the center of the hipped roof is a square white colored cupola rising in stages to a clock with four sides and gold colored dome. The clocks are in the second stage and are topped with a pediment and flanked by coupled pilasters. In the interior, there is a cross floor plan with four entrances on the first story. Walls are of plaster with wood bench railing, some paneling. The floors are of tile and terrazzo. Two staircases lead to the second story where the County Superior Court courtroom is located. The courtroom that has wood paneling and plaster walls. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court and County Probate Court of the 3rd Judicial District. 


See: The architect, James J Baldwin also designed courthouses in Atkinson CountyBacon CountyBarrow County, Bleckley County, Candler CountyEvans County, Liberty County and Treutlen Countyand in North Carolina in Cherokee County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Lee County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Bibb County, Chattahoochee CountyCrawford CountyHarris CountyHouston CountyMacon CountyMarion CountyMuscogee CountyPeach CountySchley CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot CountyTaylor County and Webster County. 


History:  The county was created in 1826 and Starkville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Starkville in 1837. In 1854, the county seat was moved to Webster and the second courthouse was built. The third courthouse was built in Starkville in 1861 after the county seat was moved back until it was moved to Leesville in 1872. A building was used as the fourth courthouse but it burned in 1872. Work started on a new courthouse but work was halted in 1874 and the unfinished building was sold. The fifth courthouse was constructed in 1880. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 1918.




County Courthouse – Leesburg








































County Superior Court courtroom
















County Governmental Building




Photos taken 2013 and 2020