Renville County

US States / M / Minnesota / Renville County

Renville County is named for Joseph Renville, an early settler in Minnesota, who served with the British in the War of 1812 leading a company of Dakota warriors against the United States forces later serving as an interpreter, trader and source of information about Dakota.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Chippewa County, Kandiyohi County and Meeker County

E – McLead County and Sibley County

S – Nicolett County, Brown County and Redwood County

W – Yellow Medicine County and Chippewa County


Created:  February 20, 1855                  Map of Minnesota highlighting Renville County

County Seat:

Beaver Falls  1872 – 1895

Olivia             1895 – 1898

Beaver Falls  1898 – 1900

Olivia             1900 – present


County Courthouse – Olivia


Location:  500 East Depue Avenue / South 4th Street

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  French Second Empire

Architect:  Fremont D Orff of Minneapolis

Contractor:  O H Olson of Stillwater


Description:  The building faces south and  is a two story red colored stone, brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Olivia. The corner towers of red colored brick are trimmed with yellow colored stone that appears in quoins, belt coursed, and window surrounds, as well as the central portico and solid rusticated high basement. The blue-green copper segmented domes over the corner pavilions and the central tower suggest. However, the center pavilion with its balustered porch, fluted columns and classic oculus-pierced pediments is in the Georgian style. The courtroom is located on the second story. In 1933, the building was repaired and redecorated.


See:  The architect, Fremont D Orff, designed courthouses in Minnesota in Big Stone County, Red Lake County and Waseca County; and in Nebraska in Wayne County.


History:  The first courthouse was built at Beaver Falls in 1872 at a cost of $2,000. The second courthouse was built in 1889. At a cost of $3,939. In 1895, the county seat was moved to Olivia and a local business building served as the third courthouse. In 1896, the court returned to Beaver Falls and then returned to Olivia in 1900. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1903 at a cost of $88,000.


County Government Services Center – Olivia




Location:  5th Street South / Lincoln Avenue

Built:  1991 – 1992

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Klein McCarthy Architects of St. Louis Park

Contractor:  Nelson Construction Company Inc. of Willmar


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick, buff colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Olivia on the east side of the courthouse. The building is rectangular shaped and the roof line is flat. The building is named as the Renville County Government Services Center.  An addition was built on the south side in 2007 and completed in 2008. The addition is also rectangular shaped. The architect was Klein McCarthy Architects of St. Louis Park and the contractor was Contegrity Group Inc. of Little Falls.




County Courthouse – Olivia

















































County Government Services Center – Olivia













Building before addition

Photos taken 2007, 2010 and 2017