Meeker County

US States / M / Minnesota / Meeker County

Meeker County is named for Bradley B Meeker, who was an Associate Justice of the Minnesota Territorial Supreme Court.


Created:  February 23, 1856

County Seat:

Forrest City 1856 – 1869

Litchfield     1869 – present


County Courthouse – Litchfield


Location:  325 North Sibley Avenue / West 4th Street

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Genesis Architects of Willmar

Contractor:  Adolphson-Peterson, Inc of Minneapolis


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story white colored stucco structure. There are windows in two deep cut horizontal bands. Glass aprons the ground level, slanting diagonally into the plane of the building. Natural light is also a feature of the other three levels, which open into a central atrium beneath a large segmented skylight. A one story addition was added to the rear of the building in 2001 to 2002. The architect was Engan Associates of Willmar and the contractor was Spectra Building Group of Monticello.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1860 in Forest City, and in 1869, the courthouse was moved to Litchfield. The second courthouse was designed by G B Phelps and constructed by J A McKay & Company in 1885 and completed 14 years later at a cost of $20,000.



N – Stearns County

E – Wright County

S – McLeod County and Renville County

W – Kandiyohi County


























Photos taken 2007 and 2008