Redwood County

US States / M / Minnesota / Redwood County

Redwood County is named for the Redwood River and “redwood” is the translation of the Dakota name “chanshayapi”.


Created:  February 6, 1862

County Seat:

Redwood Falls  1866 – present


County Courthouse – Redwood Falls


Location:  250 South Jefferson Street NW / 3rd Street

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:   E P Bassford of Saint Paul

Contractor:  William Lettau


Description:  The building  faces west and is a three story red colored brick and granite structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The building has a glassed portico at the front entrance. The base of the building is course white stone. The roof is hipped. An addition was added on the east and south sides in 1970. The architect was Glen Cording Associates, Inc.


Note:  The first court was convened in a hall owned by J Schmalll in 1866 and the next year court was held over a store owned by Louis Robert. In 1870, the first courthouse was built. In 1872, the courthouse square was deeded to the county by Sam McPail and A Dolvin built the second courthouse at a cost of $2,150. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $35,000.



N – Yellow Medicine County and Renville County

E – Renville County and Brown County

S – Brown County, Cottonwood County and Murray County

W – Lyon County and Yellow Medicine County
































Photos taken 2008 and 2017