Sibley County

US States / M / Minnesota / Sibley County

Sibley County is named for General Henry Hastings Sibley, an early pioneer, governor and military defender of the state. He was the first Governor of Minnesota.


Created:  March 5, 1853

County Seat:

Henderson  1853 – 1915

Gaylord       1915 – present


County Courthouse – Gaylord


Location:  400 Court Avenue / Harrison Street

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  James A Burner and William H Macomber

Contractor:  Olson & Johnson


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story gray stone structure. The south front has six columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story and they support a classic pediment and entablature above a high basement of horizontally-course stone. Large glass windows on two levels open the wall behind the columns. The building also has bronze entry doors and a stained glass skylight in the dome above the three-story octagonal rotunda. Inside, the main office floor is marble-faced with four principal offices designated by bronze name plates on opposite angles of the octagon. The ceiling is coffered and enameled in soft gold and green designs, which blend with the coloured marble decoration bordering the top of the walls. Two marble stairways rise to the second level and a narrow strip of ebony sets off light wood doors. The annex was built in January 1976. The architect Rieke-Carroll-Muller Associates and the contractor was Loeffel-Engstrand of Hopkins.





N – Renville County, McLead County and Carver County

E – Scott County and Le Sueur County

S –  Nicolett County 

W – Renville County














Photos taken 2007 and 2012