Wilkin County

US States / M / Minnesota / Wilkin County

Wilkin County is named after Colonel Alexander Wilkin, a lawyer who served as Minnesota’s United States Marshall and who was later killed during the Civil War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clay County

E – Otter Tail County and Grant County

S – Traverse County

W – Richland County, North Dakota 


Created:  March 6, 1868                         Map of Minnesota highlighting Wilkin County

County Seat:

Breckenridge  1868 – present


County Courthouse – Breckenridge


Location:  300 South Fifth Street / Dakotah Avenue

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Beaux Arts and Art Deco

Architect:  Buechner and Orth of Saint Paul

Contractor:  Redlinger & Hanson


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story Bedford stone, buff colored brick, limestone, concrete and steel structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds on the south side of the center of Breckenridge. Broad steps lead up to the west side main entrance. Double bronze doors are surmounted by a transom window, a stone cornice supported by flanking pilasters, and a carved stone eagle. There is a covered, rear basement-level entrance and another basement (ground floor) entrance on the north side. Closely spaced windows, separated by raised brick pilasters capped by stone, puncture the walls on all sides and levels of the courthouse. The corner, top floor windows are surmounted by decorative garlands. Similar trim is found above the paired pilasters flanking the main entrance. A double-wide window above the entrance is set in a segmental arched opening. The original windows were replaced when dropped ceilings were installed. The window alterations were tastefully done; the effect is not unattractive. Between the first and second floor windows, polychrome ceramic flowers decorate recessed brick panels. The floral motif is repeated in the decorated frieze in the cornice above the windows on all four facades. The interior has a central dome with geometrically divided stained glass skylight. The surrounding murals above the second-floor columned loggia depict early Wilkin County. The terrazzo floors and the pink colored Tennessee marble wainscoting on a base of Italian marble are original. An inscription carved across the central parapet reads: “To None Will We Delay, To None Will We Deny, Right and Justice”. The large County District Court courtroom is located on the north side of the third story. The building houses the County District Court of the 8th Judicial District.  On the east side is a one story addition. The architect was Kien McCarthy & Company and the contractor was Comstock Construction Inc.


See:  The architect Buechiner & Orth of St. Paul, Minnesota designed many courthouses.


See:  National; Register of Historic Places – Wilkin County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Big Stone CountyChippewa CountyGrant County, Kandiyohi CountyLac Qui Parle CountyMeeker County, Pope CountyRenville County, Stevens CountySwift CountyTraverse County and Yellow Medicine County.


History:  The county was created in 1868 and Breckenridge was designated as the county seat. The first courthouse was a frame building used in 1872 which burned in 1883. The second courthouse was built in 1883 and burned in 1924. The cost of construction in 1928 to 1929 of the third and present courthouse was $203,492. 




County Courthouse – Breckenridge





































County District Court courtroom




























County Courthouse Annex – Breckenridge




Photos taken 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2018