Traverse County

US States / M / Minnesota / Traverse County

Traverse County is named after Lake Traverse which is a translation of the Dakota name “Mdehdakinyan” meaning the “lake lying crosswise”.


Created:  February 20, 1862

County Seat:

Browns Valley   1862 – 1881

Maudada          1882 – 1884

Browns Valley   1884 – 1889

Wheaton           1889 – present


County Courthouse – Wheaton


Location:  702 2nd Avenue North / 7th Street North

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Harry W Jones of Minneapolis

Contractor:  Alfred A Sutterlund of Wheaton


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The building is constructed of red colored brick. Each side of the first and second stories has round-arched windows. A steel portico is over the south entrance. The courtroom is located on the second story. An addition was built onto the south side in 1919 and the tower was removed. The architect was Helmer Hanson and the contractor was Carlson and Hasslen. In 1938, a vault was built. The architect and contractor was P C Bettenburg of Architect and Engineers Inc. Further renovations were made in 1973 and in 1974, the size of the building was doubled. The architect was Glenn Cording Associates Inc. and the contractor was Bruch and Morrow, Inc.



N – Wilkin County

E – Grant County and Stevens County

S – Big Stone County

W – Roberts County, South Dakota and Richland County, North Dakota





County Courthouse

























Photos taken 2007, 2008 and 2017