Thomas County

US States / N / Nebraska / Thomas County

Thomas County is named for George H Thomas, who was a Major during the American Civil War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cherry County

E – Blaine County

S – Logan County and McPherson County

W – Hooker County


Created:  March 13, 1887                       Map of Nebraska highlighting Thomas County

County Seat:

Thedford  1888 – present


County Courthouse – Thedford 


Location:  503 Main Street / Walnut Street

Built:  2005 – 2006

Style:  Modern

Architect:  C G Architects

Contractor:  Hausmann Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story red colored brick, vinyl siding and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Thedford. The south front has a peaked red brick center section with a recessed entrance. On the north side, the courtroom is located in an extension from the main building. The building has a red colored brick foundation and the roof is hipped. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 11th Judicial District. On the north side of the building is the old one story County Jail.


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Arthur CountyChase County, Dawson CountyDundy County, Frontier County, Furnas County, Gosper County, Hayes CountyHitchcock County, Hooker CountyKeith CountyLincoln County, Logan CountyMcPherson CountyPerkins County and Red Willow County.


History:  The county was created in 1887 and Thedford was selected as the county seat in 1888. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1889. The building was destroyed by fire in 1920. The second courthouse was a two story structure designed by J S Kelly and built in 1923. The courthouse was torn down in 2005 when the third and present courthouse was constructed in 2005 to 2006.




County Courthouse - Thedford 






















Old County Jail – Thedford




Cowpoke Hotel – Thedford

Photos taken 2006 and 2010