Hayes County

US States / N / Nebraska / Hayes County

Hayes County is named for Rutherford B Hayes, who was President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Perkins County and Lincoln County

E – Frontier County

S – Hitchcock County

W – Chase County


Created:  February 19, 1877                  Map of Nebraska highlighting Hayes County

County Seat:

Hayes Center  1877 – present


County Courthouse – Hayes Center  


Location:  502 Troth Street / Daniels Avenue

Built:  1954 – 1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Davis & Wilson of Lincoln

Contractor:  D L Moffitt of McCook.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hayes Center. The south front has a slightly projecting center section with framed entrance. There are horizontal windows with dividers. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 11th Judicial District.


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Arthur CountyChase County, Dawson CountyDundy County, Frontier County, Furnas County, Gosper County, Hitchcock County, Hooker CountyKeith CountyLincoln County, Logan CountyMcPherson CountyPerkins County, Red Willow County and Thomas County.


History:  The county was created in 1877 and Hayes Center was selected as the county seat in 1885 when the county was organized. The county rented space in the private home of J W Dyer and other places until the first courthouse was built. The courthouse burned on May 6, 1891. The second courthouse was a two room wood structure built in 1891. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure built by I B Daggett in 1904 to 1906 at a cost of $5,000.  The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1954 to 1955




County Courthouse – Hayes Center
















Photos taken 2010