Pennington County

US States / O-U / South Dakota / Pennington County

Pennington County is named for John L Pennington, who was the Governor of the Dakota Territory from 1874 to 1878. 


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lawrence County and Meade County

E – Haakon County and Jackson County

S – Jackson County, Shannon County and Custer County

W – Weston County, Wyoming


Created:  January 11, 1875                    Map of South Dakota highlighting Pennington County

County Seat:                

Sheridan    1877 – 1878

Rapid City  1878 – present


County Courthouse – Rapid City


Location:  315 Saint Joseph Street / 3rd Street

Built:  1922 – 1923

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  William Earl Hulse of Hutchinson, Kansas

Contractor:  A Sugarman Construction of Des Moines, Iowa


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Rapid City. On north front there are eight stone columns rising from the first to second story and three large arched windows, one of which is above the center entrance. On the third story there is a balustrade and no windows. The original section contains the original courtroom. On the east side is the modern annex constructed in 1990 in the same style. The architect was Lund Associates and TSP Architects and the contractor was Corner Construction Company.


History: The first courthouse was built in 1883 at a cost of $12,000 and was destroyed by fire on April 25, 1897. The. The second courthouse was built by Thomas Sweeney, Hugh McMahon and Mike Whealen. The building burned in November 1897 and the third courthouse was built in 1898. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1922 to 1923 at a cost of $415,000.


Note:  The highest point in South Dakota is Black Elk ( Harney ) Peak at 7231 feet ( 2204 meters ) which is located in the county.




County Courthouse – Rapid City


































Photos taken 2007 and 2015