Dawson County

US States / N / Nebraska / Dawson County

Dawson County is named for Jacob Dawson, the first postmaster in present-day Lincoln, the state capitol.


Created:  February 17, 1877

County Seat:

Lexington  1877 – present


County Courthouse – Lexington 


Location:  200 North Washington Street / West 7th Street

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  William F Gernandt of Omaha

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story brownish colored brick and stone Beaux Arts style structure. The west front has horizontal stonework on the first story with brownish colored brick on the upper stories. The center section projects with four columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story where there is a decorative cornice rising to decorative parapets with statues and a stone balustrade. The windows are framed with stone. In 1955 to 1956, a two story addition was constructed. The architect was McNett, Strange & Company of Grand Island. Along the east side is the modern County Administration.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed by Otto Hanson in 1873. The building was demolished. The bid for construction of the current courthouse was $90,140. The courthouse is similar to the courthouse in Webster County.


See:  The architect, William F Gernandt of Omaha, designed courthouses in Clay County, Merrick County, Pawnee County, Phelps County, Polk County, Richardson County, Sarpy CountyValley County and Webster County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Dawson County Courthouse


County Administration – Lexington 




Location:  200 North Washington Street / West 7th Street

Built:  1979 – 1980

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Gardner / Young Architects  Inc.

Contractor:  Weaver Construction


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. There are vertical windows with red colored panels between. The courthouse is connected on the northwest. The roof line is flat.



N – Custer County

E – Buffalo County

S – Phelps County, Gosper County and Frontier County

W – Lincoln County





























Photos taken 2010