Furnas County

US States / N / Nebraska / Furnas County

Furnas County is named for Robert W Furnas, who was a Governor of the State of Nebraska.


Created:  February 27, 1873

County Seat:

Beaver City  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Beaver City  


Location:  912 R Street / 9th Street

Built:  1949 – 1950

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  John Latenser of Omaha

Contractor:  Francis R Orshek, Inc. of Fremont


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The south front has a central entrance with framed rectangular opening. The second and third stories haves vertical windows with panels between. The east and west corner sections are lower and project slightly from the main building. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1888. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $167,940.


See:  The architect, John Latenser of Omaha, designed courthouses in Cherry County, Custer CountyDawes County and Holt County; and John Latenser, Sr. of Omaha in Douglas County.



N – Frontier County and Gosper County

E – Harlan County

S – Norton County, Kansas 

W – Red Willow County














Photos taken 2010 and 2011