Linn County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Linn County

Linn County is named for Lewis Fields Linn, who was a doctor and a United States Senator from Missouri.


Created:  December 21, 1837

County Seat:

Marion             1839 – 1919

Cedar Rapids  1919 – present


County Courthouse – Cedar Rapids


Location:  50 3rd Avenue Bridge ( Mays Island )

Built:  1929 – 1933

Style:  Roman and Greek

Architect:  Joseph W Royer and James A Wetmore

Contractor:  Madsen & Peterson


Description: The building faces northwest and  is a two story Bedford limestone structure. The front has ten large columns with recessed windows and entrances. The interior has posts and walls made of travertine and marble floors. The building was rededicated in 1975, and the building was repaired after a flood in 2008.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Marion in 1842 at a cost of $40,000. The previous courthouse was designed by George W Gray and constructed in Marion in 1855. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $1,300,000.



N – Buchanan County and Delaware County 

E – Jones County and Cedar County

S – Johnson County

W – Benton County



















Photos taken 2008