Johnson County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Johnson County

Johnson County is named for Richard Mentor Johnson, who was the ninth Vice President of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Linn County

E – Cedar County and Muscatine County

S – Louisa County and Washington County

W – Iowa County


Created:  December 21, 1837                Map of Iowa highlighting Johnson County

County Seat:

Napoleon   1838 – 1842

Iowa City    1842 – present


County Courthouse – Iowa City


Location:  417 Clinton Street / West Court Street

Built:  1899 – 1900

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Rush, Bowman & Co. Ltd

Contractor:  Rowson & Son


Description: The building faces east and is a two story buff colored sandstone structure. The front has two rounded towers with conical roofs with the recessed entrance section in the center. The entrance has a large ornamented stone arch with impressive carvings. On the center of the roof is a large square stone tower with pitched roof. During construction, the superintendent was J J Holtz. The building houses the County District Court of the 6 Judicial District.


See:  The contractor, James Rowson and Son, also constructed courthouses in Dallas County and Jasper County.


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Benton County, Iowa CountyJones County, Linn County and Tama County.


History:  The county was created in 1837 and Napoleon was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Napoleon in 1838. The county seat was moved to Iowa City in 1842 and the second courthouse was built in 1842. The third courthouse was built in 1856. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $111,000.





County Courthouse – Iowa City



















Photos taken 2008