Benton County

US States / H-L / Iowa / Benton County

Benton County is named for Thomas Hart Benton, who was a United States Senator from Missouri.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Black Hawk County and Buchanan County

E – Linn County

S – Iowa County

W – Tama County


Created:  December 21, 1837                Map of Iowa highlighting Benton County

County Seat:

Vinton  1838 – present


County Courthouse – Vinton


Location:  111 East 4th Street / 1st Avenue Street

Built:  1905 – 1906

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  C E Bell and M S Detweiler

Contractor:  George Rickman and Sons Company


Description: The building faces south and is a three story Buckeye buff colored sandstone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Vinton. The first story or basement level has a high foundation of rusticated Kettle River sandstone while the rest of the building is made of dressed blocks of gray colored Buckeye sandstone. The center section projects from the main building and has an arched entrance on the first story. Stone banding separates each story from the other as does the treatment of each level’s window openings. There is a large arched window on the second story with pediment above. The east and west wings also project. On the center of the roof is a high square clock tower rising 112 feet with cupola at the top. In the interior is a central rotunda rising from the spacious entrance lobby. The staircase on the north side rises to the second story and the courtroom. The building houses the County District Court of the 6th Judicial District. During construction, the superintendent was J A Murphy.


See:  The architect, C E Bell and M S Detweiler of Minneapolis, Minnesota designed many courthouses.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Benton County Courthouse


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Iowa CountyJohnson CountyJones County, Linn County and Tama County.


History:  The county was created in 1937 and Vinton was selected as the county seat in 1838. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1838. The second courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1851 and destroyed by fire before completion in 1853. The third courthouse was a brick structure designed and constructed by John Tyler in 1856 to 1857 at a cost of #13,000. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1905 to 1906 at a cost of $105,000.




County Courthouse – Vinton



















Photos taken 2008