Clay County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Clay County

Clay County is named for Henry Clay, who was an American statesman, United States Senator and Congressman from Kentucky 1806-1852, U.S. Secretary of State 1825-1829, three times Speaker of the House and three times candidate for president.


Created:  December 23, 1824

County Seat:

Maysville   1825 – 1841

Louisville   1841 – present


County Courthouse – Louisville


Location:  111 West Chestnut Street / South Main Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Joseph W Royer

Contractor:  English Brothers


Description: The building faces north and is a two story graycolored limestone structure. The north and south wings extend from the main building and have two large columns framing the recessed entrance on the first story. Around the roof line is a balustrade.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built by Samuel Slocumb and Hartwig Samuelson in 1843 in Louisville.



N – Effingham County and Jasper County

E – Jasper County and Richland County

S – Wayne County 

W – Marion County and Fayette County










Photos taken 2008