Bureau County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Bureau County

Bureau County is named for Pierre de Bureau, who was a French trader with the Indians.


Created:  February 28, 1837

County Seat:

Princeton  1837 – present


County Courthouse – Princeton


Location:  700 South Main Street / Park Avenue

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Royer and Danley

Contractor:  T S Willis


Description: The building faces east and is a two story structure. The building is faced with gray colored polished stone. The central east section extends from the main building and has a square two story arch with recessed glass windows over the entrance doors. The roof line is flat.



N – Whiteside County and Lee County

E – La Salle County and Putnam County

S – Putnam CountyMarshall County and Stark County

W – Henry County














Photos taken 2007 and 2010