Forest County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Forest County

Forest County is named for the dense forest that covered the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Iron County, Michigan

E – Florence County and Marinette County

S – Oconto County and Langlade County

W – Oneida County and Vilas County


Created:  April 11, 1885                          Map of Wisconsin highlighting Forest County

County Seat: 

Crandon  1885 – present


County Courthouse – Crandon


Location:  200 East Madison Street / North Lake Avenue

Built:  1909 – 1911

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Fremont D Orff

Contractor:  W H Fraley


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of the city. On the center of the roof is a square red colored brick cupola with white colored wood top and red colored roof. The building has Kasota Stone tiling. The center portion of the building projects from the main building. White trim is around the roof line. During construction, the superintendent was Gus Horn. On the south side is a modern brick addition.  A one story addition was constructed on the north side in 1978, and the Law Enforcement Center was built on the south side in 1997.


History:  Crandon became the county seat in 1885. The first and only courthouse was constructed in 1909 to 1911.




County Courthouse – Crandon




























Photos taken 2007 and 2010