Price County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Price County

Price County is named for W T Price, who was a Wisconsin state legislator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Ashland County and Iron County

E – Vilas County, Oneida County and Lincoln County

S – Taylor County

W – Rusk County and Sawyer County


Created:  February 26, 1879                  Map of Wisconsin highlighting Price County

County Seat: 

Phillips  1879 – present


County Courthouse – Phillips


Location:  126 Cherry Street / North Lake Avenue

Built:  1966 – 1967

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Gauger & Associates, Inc. of St. Paul, Minnesota

Contractor:  Precour Construction Company of Oskosh


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Phillips.  The east front is divided by vertical concrete dividers and smaller horizontal dividers. Two panels are finished with yellow colored stone, and the southerly panel has the county crest. The entrance has a small concrete overhang. Along the roof line is a wide concrete cornice and is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story.


History:  The county was created in 1879 and Phillips was designated as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure  built in 1880 and burned in 1895. The second courthouse was a two story structure built by Henry Laycock in 1895. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1966 to 1967.




County Courthouse – Phillips






















Photos taken 2007 and 2010