Marathon County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Marathon County

Marathon County is named for the town of Marathon in Greece.


Created:  February 9, 1850

County Seat: 

Wausau  1850 – present


County Courthouse – Wausau


Location:  500 Forest Street / North 6th Street

Built:  1954 – 1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Childs & Smith

Contractor:  Steenberg Construction of Saint Paul, Minnesota


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city and is faced with a smooth brownish stone. Horizontal bands of red are along the roof line and halfway down the building. On the south side are two large stone crests. The entrance has dark glass rising to the top of the second story. An addition was constructed on the north side in 1986 to 1988. The architect was Becher-Hoppe and the contractor was C D Smith Construction Inc.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by H C Koch & Company and constructed by John Miller in 1892.



N – Taylor County, Lincoln County and Langlade County

E – Langlade County and Shawano County

S – Portage County and Wood County

W – Clark County and Taylor County





County Courthouse













Photos taken 2007, 2011 and 2012