Oconto County

US States / V-Z / Wisconsin / Oconto County

Oconto County is named for a Native American settlement and the Oconto River, whose name means “plentiful with fish”.


Surrounding  County Courthouses: 

N – Forest County and Marinette County

E – Marinette County and Door County 

S – Brown County and Shawano County

W – Shawano County, Menominee County and Langlade County



Created:  February 6, 1851                    Map of Wisconsin highlighting Oconto County

County Seat: 

Oconto  1851 – present


County Courthouse – Oconto


Location:  301 Washington Street / Collins Avenue

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Romanesque Revival / Classical Revival

Architect:  Charles H Rau & Roberrt George Kirsch

Contractor:  William Kasten.


Description:  The building faces south and  is a two story buff brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Oconto. There is a stone foundation. The south front has three sections with peaked roofs. The center section has a large arch at the first story entrance with four vertical windows on the second story. An elliptical medallion in the tympanum of the second-story arch overhead contains the profiles of a fish and a log, recalling the county’s sustaining industries in the late nineteenth century. Terra cotta ornament and a finial trim the peak of the center gable. On the center of the roof is a square dome with clock and rounded red colored roof and gold colored statue of Justice. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 8th Judicial Circuit.  The building was completely refurbished in 1907. The architect was Foeller & Schober. The Jail Annex was added on east side in 1960 and office wing on the west side in 1977.


See:  The architect, Robert Geoege Kirsch designed courthouses in Missouri in Adair CountyCarroll CountyCooper County, Polk County and Vernon County, in Texas in Hemphill County and Randall County,  and in Wisconsin in Waukesha County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Oconto County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Brown CountyDoor County, Kewaunee County, Marinette County, Outagamie County and Waupaca County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Oconto was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1857. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1891 to 1892 at a cost of $50,000. A fire in 1907 destroyed the upper story.




County Courthouse – Oconto




Photos taken 2007