Lumpkin County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Lumpkin County

Lumpkin County is named for Wilson Lumpkin, who was a Governor of Georgia, a United States Representative and a United States Senator.


Created:  December 3, 1832

County Seat: 

Auraria        1832 – 1836

Dahlonega  1836 – present


Old County Courthouse – Dahlonega


Location:  1 Public Square / Main Street

Built:  1836 – 1838

Style:  Vernacular with Classical Revival

Architect:  Ephram Clayton

Contractor:  Ephram Clayton


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story buff colored brick, stone and wood structure. The outer walls are solid, ranging between 24 and 22.5 inches thick. The southeast front has a large portico with two large columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. On the first story is an arched entrance with balcony on the second story. The windows have shutters. The roof is hipped. The building now houses the Dahlonega Gold Museum.


Note:  The bricks for the courthouse were hand made from clay dug from nearby Cane Creek and reveal trace amounts of gold. The courthouse is the oldest public building stil standing in Georgia.


County Justice Center – Dahlonega




Location:  325 Riley Road / Morrison Moore Parkway

Built:  2008 – 2010

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Gardner, Spencer, Smith, Tench & Jarbeau

Contractor:  The Winter Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The west front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There are three arches at the central entrance on the first story. There is wing on the south side. The roof is hipped. The building is located on spacious grounds.


County Administration – Dahlonega




Location:  99 Courthouse Hill Road / East Main Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Jacobs and Matthews 


Contractor:  765 Builders, Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored flagstone and concrete structure. There are one story projecting sections on each corner which are faced with flagstone. The main building has a recessed entrance on the south side and rises two stories with windows on the east and west sides. The roof line is flat. The building sits at the top of a hill. The building served as the courthouse until 2010 and is now the Administration Building.



N – Fannin County and Union County

E – White County

S – Hall County

W – Dawson County and Gilmer County









































Photos taken 2013