Hall County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Hall County

Hall County is named for Lyman Hall, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lumpkin County and White County 

E – Habersham CountyBanks County and Jackson County

S – Gwinnett County

W – Forsyth County and Dawson County


Created:  December 15, 1818                Map of Georgia highlighting Hall County

County Seat: 

Gainesville  1818 – present


County Courthouse – Gainesville 


Location:  225 Green Street  / Broad Street

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Steven B Hill and H Lloyd Hill Architects and Associates Inc.

Contractor:  Ellis-Don Construction, Inc.


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a four story dark red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Gainesville. The entrance is located at the northwest corner on the first story with a recessed porch and glass panel walls. The first story has a series of arches along the first story. There are horizontal windows on the second and third stories and arched windows on the fourth story. The roof line is flat. A covered walkway extends northwest and the old courthouse is located across a courtyard on the southwest side of the building.


Old County Courthouse – Gainesville 




Location:  SW – Spring Street / Green Street

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Stripped Classical

Architect:  Daniell and Beutell

Contractor:  Charles Mion


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story white colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Gainesville to the north of the courthouse. The southeast front has a projecting central section with a stone framed entrance in the center. The front has vertical pilasters between the windows and ornamentation below the roof line which has a decorative railing. There is a sloped roof with square white colored cupola with clock. The main part of the building extends southwest and northeast and has a flat roof line. An addition was designed by Jacobs, Matthews & Parker, Inc. and constructed in 1975 on the northwest side and is connected by a passage way.


History:  The first courthouse was a log structure built after 1818. The second courthouse was built halfway between Mule Camp Springs and Redwine Springs in 1820. The third courthouse was a brick structure built in 1832 in Gainesville. The fourth courthouse was built in 1851 after the third courthouse burned and it also burned.  The fifth courthouse was a brick structure designed by Bruce & Morgan and constructed by Joe B Patton built in 1884 to 1886 and was destroyed by a tornado in 1936. The sixth courthouse was constructed in 1936 and is still standing. The seventh courthouse was constructed in 2000 to 2002.




County Courthouse – Gainesville




























Old County Courthouse – Gainesville






















Bell from 1886 County Courthouse




Photos taken 2013