Rabun County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Rabun County

Rabun County is named for William Rabun, who was the thirty-first governor of Georgia from 1817 to 1819.


Created:  December 15, 1818

County Seat: 

Claytonsville  1821 – 1823

Clayton          1823 – present


County Courthouse – Clayton


Location:  25 Courthouse Square / West Savannah Street

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  John J Harte Associates Inc.

Contractor:  Hagaman Construction Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story gray colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building sits on edge of a ravine in the center of Clayton. The east front has a large central section with high rectangular opening having a recessed entrance and large arched glass window above. Red colored brick faces the first story which has vertical concrete divides separating the windows. On the second story, the window banks protrude. The roof is green colored and a small square white cupola with clock and green colored dome rises from the building center.


History: The first court was held at the residence of Daniel Love. The first courthouse was built in 1824. The second courthouse was built in 1838 until 1878. Court was held in the Masonic Lodge until 1908 when the third courthouse was designed by H L Lewman and constructed by Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1967 to 1968.



N – Clay County, North Carolina Macon County, North Carolina and  Jackson County, North Carolina

E – Oconee County, South Carolina

S – Habersham County

W – Towns County 





County Courthouse – Clayton






















Photos taken 2008 and 2013