Towns County

US States / A-G / Georgia / Towns County

Towns County is named for George Washington Towns, who was a Governor of Georgia.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clay County, North Carolina

E – Rabun County and Habersaham County

S – White County

W – Union County


Created:  March 6, 1856                         Map of Georgia highlighting Towns County

County Seat: 

Hiawassee  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Hiawassee 


Location:  48 River Street / South Berrong Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Henry M Whitehead, Jr.

Contractor:  Gilmer Moody


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hiawassee and is rectangular. The northeast front has a large porch supported by seven pillars rising to arches below the roof line. The central entrance has glass panels rising to the second story. The roof extends out from the building on all sides. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court of the 9th Judicial Administrative District.



History:  The first courthouse was built in Hiawassee in 1857.  The second courthouse was constructed in 1905. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1964.


Note:  The highest point in Georgia is Brasstown Bald Mountain at 4784 feet ( 1458 meters ) which is located in the county.




County Courthouse - Hiawassee













Photos taken 2013