Woodson County

US States / H-L / Kansas / Woodson County

Woodson County is named for Daniel Woodson, who was Secretary of the Kansas Territory and Acting Governor; or for Silas Woodson, who a lawyer and politician in St. Joseph, Missouri and was Governor of Missouri.


Created:  August 25, 1855

County Seat:

Neosho Falls  1858 – 1873

Kalida             1873 – 1874

Defiance         1874 – 1876

Yates Center  1876 – present


County Courthouse – Yates Center


Location:  105 West Rutledge Street / North Main Street

Built:  1899 – 1900

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  George P Washburn & Sons of Ottawa

Contractor:  J W Brewsler.


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick, stone and wood Romanesque style structure. The building is rectangular and has a limestone block basement. The south front has a small porch on the first story and there are porches on each side. The windows on the second story have stone trimmed arches above. On each corner is a large square brick tower pavilion. On the center of the roof is a square wood cupola with smaller cupola at the top. The building is located on a landscaped square.


Note: The architect, George P Washburn & Sons, designed courthouses in Anderson County, Atchison County, Butler CountyChautaugua County, Doniphan County, Franklin County, Harper County, Kingman County, Miami County, and Pratt County, and Beaver County in Oklahoma.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Woodson County Courthouse



N – Coffey County

E – Allen County

S – Wilson County

W – Greenwood County